

President Dr. Ratikanta Mishra Chemistry Division, BARC, Mumbai

Vice-Presidents

Dr. Naina Raje (Headquarter) Analytical Chemistry Division, BARC, Mumbai

Prof. V. M. S. Verenkar Dept. of Chemistry, Goa University, Goa

Hon. Secretary

Dr. Ram Avtar Jat (Headquarter) Product Development Division, BARC, Mumbai

Hon. Treasurer

Mr. Abhishek Rai Product Development Division, BARC, Mumbai

Members

Dr. Rajesh Ganesan Materials Chemistry Division, IGCAR, Kalpakkam

Dr. Siddhartha Kolay Chemistry Division, BARC, Mumbai

Dr. Hrudananda Jena Materials Chemistry Division, IGCAR, Kalpakkam

Dr. Pradeep Samui Product Development Division, BARC, Mumbai

Dr. Rimpi Dawar Chemistry Division, BARC, Mumbai

Dr. D. Chattaraj Product Development Division, BARC, Mumbai

Dr. R. K. Mondal Radiation Technology Development Division, BARC, Mumbai

Dr. Bhupesh Kalekar Analytical Chemistry Division, BARC, Mumbai.

INDIAN THERMAL ANALYSIS SOCIETY

(Reg.No. Bom.523/1978 G.B.B.S.D. Public Trust Reg.No.F-5221, Bombay) C/o. Analytical Chemistry Division Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, Mumbai – 400 085 Tel: 69292460/3291/6448/4593, Fax: +91-22-2550 5151/2551 9613

Date: 20 Sept. 2024

Dr. GURDIP SINGH AWARD FOR BEST THESIS IN THERMAL ANALYSIS, 2024

Thermal analysis is recognized as an indispensable analytical tool for scientists/researchers, working in disciplines, like, novel materials development, polymer research, metallurgy, catalyst development, cement technology, mineralogy etc. Also, it is part of the academic curriculum for post-graduate courses in many Indian Universities.

Indian Thermal Analysis Society has been actively promoting the science of thermal analysis in the country for the last fifty years. One of our distinguished members, Dr. Gurdip Singh, Gorakhpur University, made a nice gesture during Fourteenth National Symposium and Workshop on Thermal Analysis, held at M.S. University of Baroda, Baroda during Jan. 20-24, 2004, by donating his award money for institution of an Award for the Best Thesis in the field of Thermal Analysis. Indian Thermal Analysis Society has decided to give this Award during its biennial symposia.

Nominations are invited, in the prescribed format (given below) from the students who have obtained his/her Ph.D. degree during the period August 2020 - July 2024. The duly signed, single pdf format soft copy of nominations should reach the undersigned at the below email address, latest by 30^{th} November 2024. Life Members of ITAS are only entitled to nominate the candidate for this award. The nominations should be accompanied by a synopsis of the thesis and a complete list of publications resulting from the thesis. The candidate should indicate three of his/her best publications in the field of thermal analysis and enclose three sets of those reprints with the nominations. A photo copy of the Ph.D. degree and a certificate from the guide must accompany the nomination papers. The student whose thesis is adjudged the best by a panel of experts, will be awarded a cash prize of 5,000/- and a certificate at the Symposium on Thermal Analysis being organized at Multipurpose Hall, Training School Hostel, BARC, Anushaktinagar, Mumbai – 400094 during January 16-18, 2025. The awardee will also be invited to present his/her work during the symposium.

I solicit your support to make the event a success by ensuring maximum participation from your organization. It is requested that this circular be given wide publicity in your institute.

Thanking you, R. Mishra

Address for Correspondence:

Dr. R. Mishra (President, Indian Thermal Analysis Society) Head, Thermodynamics & Pure Materials Section Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, Trombay, Mumbai – 400 085 <u>itasindia@gmail.com</u> / <u>mishrar@barc.gov.in</u>

Dr. GURDIP SINGH AWARD FOR BEST THESIS IN THERMAL ANALYSIS, 2024

Nomination Form

| | Name of nominee | : |
|--------------------------|---|---|
| | Official address | : |
| | | |
| | Address for corresponde | ence: |
| | | |
| | Membership of ITAS | : Life Member / Fellow Member / Non-member* |
| | Date of birth | : |
| Academic qualifications: | | |
| | Position(s) held | : |
| | Membership of other | |
| | professional societies | : |
| | Awards / Recognitions | : |
| | Field of specialization | : |
| | | |
| | Summary of outstandin | g |
| | contributions in the field of thermal analysis | d : |
| | | |
| | Name, address and | |
| | ITAS membership No. of the Proposer | : |
| | | |
| | Signature of the propose | er: |
| | | |

* Strike out whichever is not applicable.